Delgine 3D Tools & Content DeleD Community Edition
Forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

TEAM : Firefox - Much smoother, better looking + improved!

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DeleD Community Edition Forum Index -> DeleD User Game Projects
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Nick
Guest





PostPosted: Mon Aug 23, 2004 4:08 pm    Post subject: TEAM : Firefox - Much smoother, better looking + improved! Reply with quote

A few days ago I managed to convert my game from DarkBASIC CLASSIC to DarkBASIC PROFESSIONAL and my game ran like a charm. Before I only got 59 / 79 Frame rate. Now I get a CONSTANT 169 frame rate! My game is built for lower end pcs so if your pc is a speed demon then you will find that the game is running TOO fast. In a later version, I will have an option of speed and performance Wink.
Here's a screenie for now (notice how the level is mipmapped smoooooothly):

Back to top
granada
Team member


Joined: 07 Aug 2004
Posts: 1955
Location: England

PostPosted: Mon Aug 23, 2004 4:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looks like your getting there with this one Very Happy

dave
_________________
AMD Phenom(tm)IIx6 1090t Processor 3.20 GHS
8.00 GB memory
Windows 7 64 bit
Nvida Geforce GTX 580
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Mr.Fletcher
DeleD PRO user


Joined: 07 Aug 2004
Posts: 1772
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Aug 23, 2004 4:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
if your pc is a speed demon then you will find that the game is running TOO fast.

You can handle this with timebased movement, you just add nothing * (100/ FPS) to your movement functions. But I don't know how (and if) this can be done in DB..
_________________
Behold! The DeleD Wiki! Please help us expanding it Smile
DeleD on IRC
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nick
Guest





PostPosted: Mon Aug 23, 2004 5:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is possible. There is a thread somewhere... ill try that fps thing.

Code:
Speed#=(5/Screen fps())


Razz

Or I could have an option OR I can use this little feature I made called AUTOSYNC where it will adjust the SYNC RATE if your frame rate gets too high.

Dave - Yeah it looks like this one will actually be good.
Back to top
Guest






PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2005 4:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

if your using db pro why dont you just do the Sync rate thing?
just put
sync rate 70
or something else..then it will be constant
Back to top
hpesoj
DeleD PRO user


Joined: 16 Oct 2004
Posts: 184

PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2005 4:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you limit the sync rate, it'll stop it going over a certain speed, but to be honest that is just messy, and it won't fix it if you have a slow computer. Set the sync rate to 0, and used the delta time method (for simple time based movement). Eg.

Code:
do
  dt = (timer()-lastLoopTime)*gameSpeed
  lastLoopTime = timer()
  pos = pos + vel*dt + 0.5*accel*dt*dt
  vel = vel + accel*dt
loop
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DeleD Community Edition Forum Index -> DeleD User Game Projects All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum