Delgine 3D Tools & Content DeleD Community Edition
Forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Levelwalker -- Release candidate 1
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DeleD Community Edition Forum Index -> DeleD Plugins
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jwatte
DeleD PRO user


Joined: 26 Apr 2006
Posts: 513

PostPosted: Sat Sep 29, 2007 1:45 am    Post subject: Levelwalker -- Release candidate 1 Reply with quote

I think I've got it. Please try the latest version with whatever graphics card you may have. I'm especially interested in compatibility with ATI cards. If you get a message about bad OpenGL version, please send me a screen shot of the dialog (or write the version and driver information down).

http://levelwalker.googlecode.com/files/levelwalker-2007-09-28a.zip

I've tested it with some smaller and larger player scales, too, and I think it scales alright now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Adar
DeleD PRO user


Joined: 29 Aug 2007
Posts: 233

PostPosted: Sat Sep 29, 2007 9:48 am    Post subject: Re: Levelwalker -- Release candidate 1 Reply with quote

jwatte wrote:
I think I've got it. Please try the latest version with whatever graphics card you may have. I'm especially interested in compatibility with ATI cards. If you get a message about bad OpenGL version, please send me a screen shot of the dialog (or write the version and driver information down).

http://levelwalker.googlecode.com/files/levelwalker-2007-09-28a.zip

I've tested it with some smaller and larger player scales, too, and I think it scales alright now.

For some reason it's very laggy for me, once it barely moves the camera slips through the floor although the collision is on and I'm not pressing anything but the move keys.
I notice sometimes collisions don't work.. I've walked through a fence I made and a wall..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Paul-Jan
Site Admin


Joined: 08 Aug 2004
Posts: 3066
Location: Lage Zwaluwe

PostPosted: Sat Sep 29, 2007 10:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried it as well, rendering worked properly here (Geforce 7600 Go, Windows XP SP2, fairly powerful laptop).

- When unzipped properly, it worked straight out of the box (/zip file), without requiring any additional files. Good job, I am sure the average user will find it much more accessible now!
- Once I figured out gravity was OFF by default and I had to turn it on... things worked GREAT!
- I like the smooth camera... certain applications *cough* should really implement that, too Smile
- I cannot use tab to go from one input field in the options to the next. The show button is marked 'default', but enter doesn't seem to activate it.
- This may sound like a silly remark, but the readme.txt contains only line feeds, no carriage returns. Your target audience is probably running notepad as the default viewer for .txt files, and notepad doesn't handle unix-style linebreaks, resulting in one enormous line of text (and the user not reading it).
- Perhaps your readme.txt should explain very briefly where things should be unzipped (users who don't care can just unzip the 3rd party dll's with the plugin if they want... that's something a user shouldn't need to know in advance)
- I don't really like the three-buttons-on-taskbar approach (The Gimp... urgh...). In case you are doing for technical rather than functional reasons, the DeleD plugin system has a PluginInitialize( handle ) method these days to provide you with a parent handle if you want to change it.

All in all, top job! Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Mr.Fletcher
DeleD PRO user


Joined: 07 Aug 2004
Posts: 1772
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Sep 29, 2007 10:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, there seem to be problems with large scale scenes. Try placing a large rectangle on the ground (~10000*10000 units) and run the plugin with a player height of 2000, you will probably fall through and get stuck there.

Also, there needs to be a float down command for closed rooms. I wanted to try it out on warehouse.dxs but I can't get in there without deleting the ceiling.
_________________
Behold! The DeleD Wiki! Please help us expanding it Smile
DeleD on IRC
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andreas233223
Member


Joined: 29 Jul 2007
Posts: 359
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Sep 29, 2007 3:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

works fine on my ATI Radeon X1550, but runs slow on big scenec with big textures and much lightmaps.
_________________
♥♦♣♠♥♦♣♠♥♦♣♠♥♦♣♠♥♦♣♠♥♦♣♠♥♦♣♠♥♦♣♠
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Mr.Fletcher
DeleD PRO user


Joined: 07 Aug 2004
Posts: 1772
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Sep 29, 2007 4:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I want to add that normally the Cancel button is on the right side, not on the left side. I hit the Show button instead a couple of times when I was not paying attention!
_________________
Behold! The DeleD Wiki! Please help us expanding it Smile
DeleD on IRC
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jwatte
DeleD PRO user


Joined: 26 Apr 2006
Posts: 513

PostPosted: Sat Sep 29, 2007 5:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the feedback!

Hmm. Yes, there may be problems with really large triangles. Those problems have to do with floating point precision issues.

To "float down," does it work to the "C" button? (Descend)

The dialog navigation is a little wonky, because I have to install a windows hook on the main window to be able to call IsDialogEvent(). Maybe I'll go back and revisit that soon. The wrapper code is from before HWND, where I had to find the parent window by looking for a window with ".dxf" in the title...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mr.Fletcher
DeleD PRO user


Joined: 07 Aug 2004
Posts: 1772
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Sep 29, 2007 6:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jwatte wrote:
To "float down," does it work to the "C" button? (Descend)

Oh yes, I must have missed this Embarassed
_________________
Behold! The DeleD Wiki! Please help us expanding it Smile
DeleD on IRC
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
santutatu
DeleD PRO user


Joined: 18 Aug 2007
Posts: 729
Location: ARGENTINA

PostPosted: Sat Sep 29, 2007 8:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

can it be used in LITE version?....it's for PRO only isn't it? Embarassed
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Mr.Fletcher
DeleD PRO user


Joined: 07 Aug 2004
Posts: 1772
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Sep 29, 2007 9:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Plugins can be used in both editions, so yes, it can be used in LITE too Very Happy
_________________
Behold! The DeleD Wiki! Please help us expanding it Smile
DeleD on IRC
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
santutatu
DeleD PRO user


Joined: 18 Aug 2007
Posts: 729
Location: ARGENTINA

PostPosted: Sat Sep 29, 2007 9:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

great then! Very Happy
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Starnick
DeleD PRO user


Joined: 28 Jul 2007
Posts: 611

PostPosted: Sat Sep 29, 2007 10:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I wont be able to test this on my desktop (the one with the ATI card) till tomorrow, but I can say it works fine on my laptop that has an intel mobile card Very Happy

And also, without any extra stuff to download which was a plus.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
jwatte
DeleD PRO user


Joined: 26 Apr 2006
Posts: 513

PostPosted: Sun Sep 30, 2007 6:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's good to know.
My condolences on the Intel graphics, though :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Starnick
DeleD PRO user


Joined: 28 Jul 2007
Posts: 611

PostPosted: Mon Oct 01, 2007 4:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think in this case its me, I got the same error - but this time it displayed my version of openGL - which was 1.1

Lemme see if I can go about to update, a while ago I had to wrangle down an elusive driver patch for my card for it to work with republic commando...as far as my knowledge goes, ATI doesn't even support it anymore.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
jwatte
DeleD PRO user


Joined: 26 Apr 2006
Posts: 513

PostPosted: Mon Oct 01, 2007 4:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

1.1 sounds like the built-in Microsoft OpenGL version.
What was the text of the last line of that dialog?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DeleD Community Edition Forum Index -> DeleD Plugins All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum