Delgine 3D Tools & Content DeleD Community Edition
Forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Levelwalker -- Release candidate 1
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DeleD Community Edition Forum Index -> DeleD Plugins
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Starnick
DeleD PRO user


Joined: 28 Jul 2007
Posts: 611

PostPosted: Mon Oct 01, 2007 9:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jwatte wrote:
1.1 sounds like the built-in Microsoft OpenGL version.
What was the text of the last line of that dialog?


It read "Microsoft Corporation GDI Generic"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
jwatte
DeleD PRO user


Joined: 26 Apr 2006
Posts: 513

PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2007 2:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You have a driver problem! That's the Microsoft software emulation, which is really old and really slow.
I wonder if you also have that same emulation when using DeleD?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Starnick
DeleD PRO user


Joined: 28 Jul 2007
Posts: 611

PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2007 5:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jwatte wrote:
You have a driver problem! That's the Microsoft software emulation, which is really old and really slow.
I wonder if you also have that same emulation when using DeleD?


No idea...so how do I alleviate this problem? Track down a patch from ATI, or try and download openGL 1.3 independently...or something?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
jwatte
DeleD PRO user


Joined: 26 Apr 2006
Posts: 513

PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2007 4:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have no idea, honestly. Perhaps the ATI drivers get confused by the fact that DeleD already has an OpenGL context open, and creating a second context fails, reverting back to hardware. If you download GLInfo (from delphi3d.net), it will tell you what the renderer is in a stand-along environment. If that, too, reports Microsoft GDI Generic, then your drivers are busted, and you should start re-installing things.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Starnick
DeleD PRO user


Joined: 28 Jul 2007
Posts: 611

PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2007 10:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jwatte wrote:
I have no idea, honestly. Perhaps the ATI drivers get confused by the fact that DeleD already has an OpenGL context open, and creating a second context fails, reverting back to hardware. If you download GLInfo (from delphi3d.net), it will tell you what the renderer is in a stand-along environment. If that, too, reports Microsoft GDI Generic, then your drivers are busted, and you should start re-installing things.


Ok ran it, and for the OpenGL version it cited:

2.0.6347 WinXP Release

Complete report can be found here:

http://www.mediafire.com/?6mltz00oyg0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
jwatte
DeleD PRO user


Joined: 26 Apr 2006
Posts: 513

PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2007 12:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm. So, when the GL context is created from within DeleD, Levelwalker can't get a good context. When created separately, it works. I can't really figure out how to debug that :-/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Paul-Jan
Site Admin


Joined: 08 Aug 2004
Posts: 3066
Location: Lage Zwaluwe

PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2007 9:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It doesn't make much sense either. How is DeleD allowed to grab 4+ contexts at the same time, and your DLL isn't. ? Weirdness...

Any chance you are setting a pixel format that is not support natively by this particular hardware, causing a fallback to the microsoft software renderer?

For debugging purposes, here is our PFD.

Quote:
nVersion := 1;
dwFlags := PFD_DRAW_TO_WINDOW or PFD_SUPPORT_OPENGL or PFD_DOUBLEBUFFER or 0;
iPixelType := PFD_TYPE_RGBA;
cColorBits := 16;
cDepthBits := 16;


(Starnick: please ignore the technical babble Razz).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jwatte
DeleD PRO user


Joined: 26 Apr 2006
Posts: 513

PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2007 5:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It might be that ATI can't create one 16-bit context and one 24-bit context at the same time -- I'm asking for 24-bit color and depth. You should, too, btw :-)
I can add a fallback path that asks for 16 if 24 doesn't work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Paul-Jan
Site Admin


Joined: 08 Aug 2004
Posts: 3066
Location: Lage Zwaluwe

PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2007 5:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Our PFD has been manually tweaked over the years for maximal compatibilty with the widest range of exotic hardware... (in other words, we are not touching it because we are scared of breaking compatibility with yet another crappy Intel chipset.. Very Happy ). It's not like we actually _get_ a 16bits pixelformat, not on any r/decent hardware that is.

Regarding your fallback path, that might be a smart move, but note how the system will not actually _tell_ you it is not supporting 24bits, it does a silent fallback. You'll have to check the vendor after activating the pixelformat. Icky. (Or, of course, it could be something completely different.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jwatte
DeleD PRO user


Joined: 26 Apr 2006
Posts: 513

PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2007 6:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am already checking the GL version, as I require 1.3 or better.

Thus, now with the fallback, when I get a version less than 1.3, I destroy the window, and start over with a 16-bit context.

If that still doesn't give me a working context, I give up and post the message box.

Starnick: There's a new version, which might work for your ATI if the problem is what we're theorizing that it is. Could you try it out and let me know?
http://levelwalker.googlecode.com/files/levelwalker-2007-10-03a.zip
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Starnick
DeleD PRO user


Joined: 28 Jul 2007
Posts: 611

PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2007 7:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It works Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
santutatu
DeleD PRO user


Joined: 18 Aug 2007
Posts: 729
Location: ARGENTINA

PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2007 12:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Embarassed sorry for being so noob but...in the readme it says that i only have to copy the levelwalker dll to the plugins directory....i did that...aaand...i have....nothing....do i have to copy the others dll's?....maybe it's video card problem....but it doesn't even appears the levelwalker plugin Confused
thanks guys...Very Happy Very Happy
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Starnick
DeleD PRO user


Joined: 28 Jul 2007
Posts: 611

PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2007 3:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

santutatu wrote:
Embarassed sorry for being so noob but...in the readme it says that i only have to copy the levelwalker dll to the plugins directory....i did that...aaand...i have....nothing....do i have to copy the others dll's?....maybe it's video card problem....but it doesn't even appears the levelwalker plugin Confused
thanks guys...Very Happy Very Happy


Yeah you need the other DLL files in your root directory (where the the .exe is located ie: c:\Program Files\Deled PRO )

Easiest way is just unzip the whole zip file in that root folder.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
Paul-Jan
Site Admin


Joined: 08 Aug 2004
Posts: 3066
Location: Lage Zwaluwe

PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2007 8:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Personally, I just unzipped all the DLL's into the plugin directory, that seemed to work fine as well.

JWatte: Marvelous job on getting that workaround up and running! (Starnick: thanks a heap for your repeated feedback). The question still remains whether the underlying cause is us asking for a 16 bits context first, or the card not handing out native 24bits contexts whatsoever. As far as I am concerned, I'd say we leave it at this unless we run into trouble again at some point. This is not the kind of 'graphics programming' I like to spend more time on than necessary Very Happy... Agreed?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
santutatu
DeleD PRO user


Joined: 18 Aug 2007
Posts: 729
Location: ARGENTINA

PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2007 1:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Very Happy thanks....i will try it...i think it a great tool....to see how the level is going to develop the enviroment in your game so...again great tool Very Happy
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DeleD Community Edition Forum Index -> DeleD Plugins All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum