Delgine 3D Tools & Content DeleD Community Edition
Forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

[tutorial] making a dirt path
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DeleD Community Edition Forum Index -> DeleD Tutorials
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Jeroen
Site Admin


Joined: 07 Aug 2004
Posts: 5334
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Mar 21, 2010 1:55 pm    Post subject: Re: [tutorial] making a dirt path Reply with quote

chronozphere wrote:

Step 1:

Make a mesh of your landscape. I just used a grid. Arrange the vertices in such a way that you can see your path in the geometry. Like this:




I just realized that the new Vertex Insert option makes creating a path in a grid really easy too. Smile
_________________
Check out Figuro, our online 3D app! More powerful 3D tools for free.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
chronozphere
DeleD PRO user


Joined: 20 Jun 2006
Posts: 1010
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Mar 21, 2010 2:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yup it does.

I have been playing with it in the 2 hours passed. I've made this:




I have even added boulders to the scene.

Unfortunately DeleD crashed when I tried to lightmap it. I lost the entire scene. Crying or Very sad That's why the boulders are not in the screenshot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AWM Mars
Member


Joined: 06 Jan 2010
Posts: 1195
Location: Wilts England

PostPosted: Sun Mar 21, 2010 4:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You touched upon getting Alpha channel in TGA's. I use Fireworks which uses PNG as native. I can start with a alpha background and then build up layers of imported textures/pictures, then export or simply save as a 32 bit PNG. From memory the alpha is based upon white (I think but not 100% sure), will a PNG work the same way as a TGA?
_________________
Politeness is priceless when received, cost nothing to own or give, yet some cannot afford.

Checkout:
http://www.awm.mars.yourinside.com/
http://www.bccservices.co.uk
http://www.localtradecheck.co.uk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
trucker2000
DeleD PRO user


Joined: 11 May 2005
Posts: 1839
Location: Sacramento, California

PostPosted: Sun Mar 21, 2010 5:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

png has always worked with transperancy in deled. It's what I use.
Edit to add images:

Looking thru the semi transperant windows
Another view of the windows for reference
The windows are made using png images with alphablend checked.
_________________
Some day I will grow up and be a real modeler.
"Never give up! Never surrender!!"
Sys specs:
asus
8 gigs ram
Invidia gtx560 video card
Windows 8 (worst op sys Ever)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
chronozphere
DeleD PRO user


Joined: 20 Jun 2006
Posts: 1010
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Mar 21, 2010 5:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If your PNG is 32 bit, it will probably have an alpha channel just like the TGA, so yes, I think it works the same way. Smile

In photoshop, you can easily make a TGA with alpha. Just create a fourth channel (R, G and B channels allready exist) and start painting on it. I believe that white corresponds to opaque and black to transparent.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
moraldi
DeleD PRO user


Joined: 08 Sep 2005
Posts: 112
Location: Hellas

PostPosted: Sun Mar 21, 2010 7:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mr.Fletcher wrote:
For the record, I made a similar tutorial here. Nice to see multitexturing in DeleD working now!


I like this technique, but after exporting to .b3d format I lost the blending, when viewing the model from within Ultimate Unwrap.
Is there any way to get this solution work with Blitz3D?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
chronozphere
DeleD PRO user


Joined: 20 Jun 2006
Posts: 1010
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Mar 21, 2010 8:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

I like this technique, but after exporting to .b3d format I lost the blending, when viewing the model from within Ultimate Unwrap.
Is there any way to get this solution work with Blitz3D?


This can be because:

- The b3d exporter might not export vertex colors (most likely)
- Ultimate unwrap might not support vertex colors
- The b3d format might not support vertex colors (unlikely)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
moraldi
DeleD PRO user


Joined: 08 Sep 2005
Posts: 112
Location: Hellas

PostPosted: Sun Mar 21, 2010 8:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think the first case is true.
I could try another exporter, because the Ultimate Unwrap supports many formats.
Do you know which of the available exporters of DeleD supports vertex colors?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
chronozphere
DeleD PRO user


Joined: 20 Jun 2006
Posts: 1010
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Mar 22, 2010 9:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nope, I dont. I never use the exporters.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AWM Mars
Member


Joined: 06 Jan 2010
Posts: 1195
Location: Wilts England

PostPosted: Fri Mar 26, 2010 2:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I used both the new vertice insert tool and the much improved alpha blending tools. Both are a real asset to workflow. Very Happy

I would add, that it maybe a good thing that all the textures you use are the same size and resolution. This can cause issues when scaling with odd sized polygon faces.
_________________
Politeness is priceless when received, cost nothing to own or give, yet some cannot afford.

Checkout:
http://www.awm.mars.yourinside.com/
http://www.bccservices.co.uk
http://www.localtradecheck.co.uk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
chronozphere
DeleD PRO user


Joined: 20 Jun 2006
Posts: 1010
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Mar 26, 2010 2:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Great. Looking forward to see what you can do with the new features. Smile

Btw, now that 2.44 is released, has anyone tried my tutorial yet?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AWM Mars
Member


Joined: 06 Jan 2010
Posts: 1195
Location: Wilts England

PostPosted: Fri Mar 26, 2010 4:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes I did, along with the new vertice insert tool....
http://www.delgine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=4197 Crying or Very sad

I know its not using your Pluggin, but I tried that earlier, and couldn't work out how to rotate/move/scale polygon faces, I could only see/use vertices. As my pathway was like a snake, it became overly complicated.
_________________
Politeness is priceless when received, cost nothing to own or give, yet some cannot afford.

Checkout:
http://www.awm.mars.yourinside.com/
http://www.bccservices.co.uk
http://www.localtradecheck.co.uk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
chronozphere
DeleD PRO user


Joined: 20 Jun 2006
Posts: 1010
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Mar 26, 2010 4:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Huh.. you can't do it just by using DeleD alone. DeleD doesn't support editing multiple layers. Whatever you do, you won't get the results like in this tutorial.

Quote:

I know its not using your Pluggin, but I tried that earlier, and couldn't work out how to rotate/move/scale polygon faces, I could only see/use vertices. As my pathway was like a snake, it became overly complicated.


Click the top-left button showing you the yellow vertex. It should open up a menu where you can switch modes. Just select polygon mode and you are ready to go. Wink

Should I prehaps make a basic tutorial about how to use NashaUV?

Please let me know if this was helpfull. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AWM Mars
Member


Joined: 06 Jan 2010
Posts: 1195
Location: Wilts England

PostPosted: Fri Mar 26, 2010 7:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There was the 'Doh' moment, I found the Polygon menu selection, made it easier, albeit I did have some scaling issues, but I'm sure thats due to the different resolution textures I am using. I'll change those and give it another go. On the face of it.. It performs quite well. Smile
With a bit of practise, I'm sure it will be a great tool for productivity and features.
_________________
Politeness is priceless when received, cost nothing to own or give, yet some cannot afford.

Checkout:
http://www.awm.mars.yourinside.com/
http://www.bccservices.co.uk
http://www.localtradecheck.co.uk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
chronozphere
DeleD PRO user


Joined: 20 Jun 2006
Posts: 1010
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Mar 26, 2010 7:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok. Glad you like it. Smile I'll make a short tutorial soon, to make it easier to use for the others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DeleD Community Edition Forum Index -> DeleD Tutorials All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum