Delgine 3D Tools & Content DeleD Community Edition
Forums

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

What I believe to Deled needs most

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DeleD Community Edition Forum Index -> DeleD Feature Requests
View previous topic :: View next topic  
unphazed

PostPosted: Sun May 02, 2010 9:56 pm    Post subject: What I believe to Deled needs most Reply with quote

Ok, I believe I've learned enough about Deled so far that I can discern Deled's failings, and can identify the areas where it needs improving. These are my suggestions, based on other programs that I've used in the past. I'm not trying to say I can do better, as I am by no means a programmer, and I appreciate all the hard work that everyone has put into this program, and I must say it is a great tool. These are just my observations.

1) Vertices/Polygons alignment
Better control over aligning vertices would be wonderful. Aligning similarly to Milkshape 3d would give far better control, in that it allows you to align by different axis, and by least, average (Deled does this), and greatest values.

2) Numerical control
Another great feature would be to control extrusion based on numerical values, rather than simple dragging.

3) Optimization
The optimization tool over simplifies. It would be nice to control specific areas of this tool. Another nice option would be similar to Silo, where a user can select polygons, edges, vertices, etc. based on formulas (Select - Polygons with faces < 1, Select - Faces with edges > 4, etc.) This would be extremely helpful for finding double-faced polygons, as well as places where bad geometry exists.